Wie kauft man Bitcoin Cash? Ein Anfänger-Guide

A man thinking to buy Bitcoin Cash instead of Bitcoin

Sie haben Sich also entschlossen in Bitcoin Cash (BCH) zu investieren. Ihnen stehen nun verschiedene Optionen offen. Zu­al­ler­erst brauchen Sie ein Wallet, das Bitcoin Cash unterstützt. Dafür stehen viele Möglichkeiten zur Verfügung, die wir alle in unserem BCH Wallet Guide abgedeckt haben.

Wie kann man Bitcoin Cash beanspruchen

Wenn Sie vor dem 1. August 2017, der Tag an dem der Hardfork passiert ist, Bitcoin besessen haben, dann haben Sie ein Anrecht auf Bitcoin Cash in derselben Höhe. Selbst wenn Sie Ihre Bitcoin Cash Tokens bisher noch nicht beansprucht haben, warten diese sicher auf Sie in Ihrem Wallet.

Die Methode wie Sie die Tokens beanspruchen können, hängt vom Wallet ab, das sie nutzen.

Wenn Sie ein Full Node Wallet (also eines das den Download der gesamten Blockchain erfordert) wie Bitcoin Core oder Bitcoin Knots nutzen, müssen Sie einfach ins Menü gehen und "Backup Wallet" auswählen. Die dadurch erzeugt wallet.dat Datei können sie am Anschluss in ein Full Node Bitcoin Cash Wallet wie Bitcoin ABC laden. Nun sind Ihre Bitcoin Cash verfügbar.

A man sleeping with bitcoins under the mattress

Beachten Sie bitte, dass manche Full Node Wallets in Konflikt miteinander stehen. Das Standardverzeichnis von Bitcoin ABC ist dasselbe wie das von Bitcoin Core. Die Installation von Bitcoin ABC könnte also zum Überschreiben der Daten von Bitcoin Core führen.

Wenn Sie also kein Backup Ihrer Private Keys haben, kann das zum Verlust Ihrer BTC und BCH Tokens führen. Um das zu vermeiden, installieren Sie Bitcoin ABC oder ähnliche Full Node Bitcoin Cash Wallers auf einem anderen Computer

Wenn Sie ein SPV (Simplified Payment Verification) Wallet (das nicht die gesamte Blockchain benötigt) nutzen, sollte es auch möglich sein Ihre BCH zu beanspruchen.

Die meisten dieser Wallets nutzen einen sogenannte Recovery Seed. Das ist eine Folge von Wörtern, die Ihre Bitcoin Private Keys beinhaltet und somit auch Ihre Bitcoin Cash Private Keys. Deshalb müssen Sie diesen Seed einfach nur in ein passendes BCH Wallet einfügen.

Der Ablauf dieser Prozedur hängt allerdings stark davon ab, welchen Typ von Wallet sie nutzen. Deshalb sollten Sie nach einer Anleitung zur Beanspruchung von BCH des Wallet Providers suchen. In diesem Reddit Post finden sich zum Beispiel zahlreiche Links zu Mitteilungen von Wallet Providern. Alternativ können Sie auch immer den Support der Wallet Entwickler kontaktieren.

Wenn Sie zum Zeitpunkt des Forks keine Bitcoin besessen haben, können Sie Bitcoin Cash an einer Kryptobörse oder direkt von anderen Personen kaufen.

Börsen für den Bitcoin Cash Kauf

Obwohl Bitcoin Cash aktuell die viertgrößte Kryptowährung nach Marktkapitalisierung hinter Bitcoin, Ethereum und Ripple ist, wird es nicht von jeder Börse unterstützt. Eine Liste von Börsen, die BCH unterstützen, finden Sie hier.

Obwohl die Liste der Börsen mit BCH Unterstützung wächst, bieten aktuell nur GDAXKraken und Cex.io den Tausch gegen Echtgeld an.

Wenn Sie andere Börsen wie Bittrex nutzen, können Sie Bitcoin Cash nur gegen Bitcoin, Ether oder Tether eintauschen. Um herauszufinden, welche Handelspaare von einer Börse unterstützt werden, können Sie entweder in deren "F.A.Q." nachlesen oder einen Blick auf CryptoCoinCharts werfen.

Bitcoin Cash price chart

Beachten Sie allerdings, dass die meisten Börsen einen langwierigen Verifikationsprozess erfordern, bevor Sie mit dem Handeln beginnen können.

Zusätzlich müssen Sie ihr Bankkonto mit der Börse verknüpfen, um Auszahlungen tätigen zu können. Die gesamte Verifikation und die Verknüpfung mit dem Bankkonto kann mehrere Arbeitstage in Anspruch nehmen.

Aus Sicherheitsgründen akzeptieren die meisten Börsen nur Überweisungen. Diese können bis zu drei Werktage dauern. Manche Plattformen akzeptieren auch Kreditkarten und in Einzelfällen sogar PayPal. Meist ist diese Option aber nur für Bitcoin Transaktionen verfügbar.

Die Gebührenstrukturen dieser Börsen sind oftmals auch sehr unterschiedlich. Während manche einen Fixbetrag verlangen, berechnen andere die Gebühren jeder Aktion einzeln. Die Gebühren der Börsen können auf deren Webseiten in der "F.A.Q." Sektion gefunden werden.

A man painting over the word ‘Bitcoin’

Auch die Transaktionszeiten variieren je nach gewählter Börse.  Wie zuvor erwähnt, können Einzahlungen und Abhebungen auf eine Börse bis zu drei Werktage in Anspruch nehman. Die meisten Kryptotransaktionen, besonders bei Bitcoin Cash, sind allerdings nahezu verzögerungsfrei.

Wenn Sie bereits Bitcoin oder eine andere große Kryptowährung besitzen, können Sie auf Plattformen wie Shapeshift oder Changelly Kryptowährungen direkt gegen Bitcoin Cash eintauschen. Auf Changelly können Sie zudem die meisten Kryptowährungen mittels Visa oder MasterCard kaufen.

Abschließend sollten Sie immer sicherstellen, dass Ihre Guthaben und Transaktionen sicher sind. Handeln sie nur auf vertrauenswürdigen Börsen und prüfen Sie Adressen immer doppelt, bevor Sie Geld dorthin senden.

Börse BCH-Fiat Handelspaar BCH-Krypto Handelspaar
Coinbase BCH/USD BCH/BTC
Bittrex (BCH nennt sich BCC auf Bittrex) / BCC/BTC, BCC/USDT, BCC/ETH
Kraken BCH/USD, BCH/EUR BCH/BTC
Cex.io BCH/USD, BCH/EUR, BCH/GBP BCH/BTC
Poloniex / BCH/BTC, BCH/USDT, BCH/ETH

Handel von Person zu Person

Als Alternative können Sie auch direkt mit anderen Personen handeln. LocalBitcoinCash ist ein Service der das für Bitcoin Cash anbietet, wie LocalBitcoins es zuvor für Bitcoin angeboten hat. LocalBitcoinCash bietet eine Plattform auf der Nutzer BCH direkt gegen Fiat Währungen mit anderen Nutzern tauschen können. Nutzer können selbst Angebot erstellen oder auf die Angebote anderer Nutzer reagieren. Die Plattform bietet einen Treuhandservice dafür an. Ob dieser Plattform allerdings vertraut werden kann, muss sich erst zeigen.

Wenn Sie diese Plattform nutzen möchten, sollten Sie allerdings beachten, dass Sie mit einzelnen Nutzern, anstatt mit Unternehmen handeln. Das Betrugsrisiko ist hier also deutlich höher.

Wenn Sie von Person zu Person handeln, sollten Sie also immer genau die Beträge, den aktuellen Umrechnungskurs und die Adressen beider Seiten prüfen. Und natürlich sollten Sie auch unter keinen Umständen Ihre private Keys an andere weitergeben.

Alternativ dazu können Sie auch Meetup.com verwenden. Hier haben Sie ebenfalls die Möglichkeit sich mit anderen BCH Enthusiasten zu treffen und in einem sicheren Umfeld zu handeln.

Crypto-anarchist

Wenn Sie Bitcoin Cash offline kaufen möchte, sollten Sie sich immer an einem öffentlichen Ort treffen. Einen Freund mitzubringen, kann sich auch als gute Idee herausstellen. Informieren Sie den Käufer allerdings zuvor darüber. Zudem sollten Sie sichergehen, dass Sie eine funktionierende Internetverbindung haben. Diese benötigen Sie, um die Wechselkurse nachzulesen und die Transaktion zu tätigen.

How to Buy Bitcoin Cash. Beginners’ Guide

A man thinking to buy Bitcoin Cash instead of Bitcoin

So, you decided to invest in Bitcoin Cash (BCH). There are a few options available to you, but first you will need to get yourself a wallet that supports Bitcoin Cash. There are many different options available, all of which are covered in our BCH wallets guide.

How to claim Bitcoin Cash

If you had Bitcoins in your possession prior to August 1st, 2017 when the Bitcoin Cash hard fork happened, you are able to claim the same amount of tokens in Bitcoin Cash. Even if you haven’t claimed your Bitcoin Cash tokens by now, they will be safe and sound waiting for you to claim them.

The methods of claiming your tokens will vary depending on the particular wallet you use.

If you have a full node wallet (which is a wallet that requires you to download the entire Blockchain) like Bitcoin Core or Bitcoin Knots, simply back up your wallet by navigating the menu and selecting ‘Backup Wallet’. This will generate a wallet.dat file which you can import into a full node Bitcoin Cash wallet, such as Bitcoin ABC, where your BCH tokens will be available to you.

A man sleeping with bitcoins under the mattress

It is very important to note that some full node wallets can conflict with each other. For example, the default data directory for Bitcoin ABC is the same as Bitcoin Core. Therefore installing Bitcoin ABC may result in Bitcoin Core’s data being overwritten.

If you haven’t backed up your private keys, this may result in you losing both your BTC and BCH tokens forever. To avoid this, install Bitcoin ABC, or any similar full node Bitcoin Cash wallet, on a different computer.

If you are using an SPV (Simplified Payment Verification) wallet (which doesn’t need the entire Blockchain downloaded to your computer to operate) you should still be able to claim your Bitcoin Cash tokens.

Most of those wallets use a recovery seed, which is a phrase that holds your Bitcoin private keys, and by extension, your Bitcoin Cash private keys. Therefore you should be able to access your BCH simply by inserting this seed into a dedicated wallet.

However, the procedure to do this may differ depending on what type of wallet is used. So to be on the safe side, search for an announcement made by your wallet provider which provides instructions on how to claim your funds. Have a look at this post on Reddit for a variety of announcement links. Alternatively, you can always contact your wallet’s support team.

If you weren’t holding any Bitcoins at the time of the split, you can still purchase Bitcoin Cash at some cryptocurrency exchanges or opt for a peer-to-peer transaction.

Exchanges to buy Bitcoin Cash

Despite the fact that Bitcoin Cash is currently the fourth largest cryptocurrency behind Bitcoin, Ethereum and Ripple in terms of market capitalization, it’s not supported by every major cryptocurrency exchange. A full list of exchanges that support BCH can be found here.

Even though exchange adoption is increasing, out of all the globally operating exchanges on the list, currently only GDAX, Kraken and Cex.io allow you to buy Bitcoin Cash for fiat currency.

If you are using other exchanges, like Bittrex, you will only be able to get Bitcoin Cash in exchange for Bitcoin, Ether or Tether. To find out which exact trading pairs an exchange supports, you can either have a look in the ‘about’ or ‘F.A.Q.’ section of the exchange’s website or use CryptoCoinCharts.

Bitcoin Cash price chart

Bear in mind that the absolute majority of cryptocurrency exchanges will require you to go through a rather lengthy and sometimes daunting process of verifying your identity before you can start trading.

Additionally, in order to deposit to or withdraw funds from an exchange you will need to connect your bank account to the exchange’s withdrawal system. Completing identity verification and bank account linking will most likely take several business days.

Due to security reasons, most exchanges only accept deposits and withdrawals via bank wire transfers, which can take up to three business days to go through. Some platforms allow for credit/debit card payments and, in some cases, even PayPal, but most of the time this option is only available for Bitcoin transactions.

Different exchanges will also ask for different fees for various operations. Some platforms will charge a fixed amount, while others will calculate your fees for every operation automatically. Every exchange provides a run-down of their fees in the ‘about’ or ‘F.A.Q.’ section of their website.

A man painting over the word ‘Bitcoin’

Transaction times will also vary depending on an exchange. As it was mentioned before, most of the time depositing to and withdrawing fiat funds from an exchange can take up to three business days. However, most cryptocurrency operations, especially when it comes to Bitcoin Cash, are almost instantaneous.

Alternatively, if you already own Bitcoins, or any other major cryptocurrency for that matter, you can use services like Shapeshift and Changelly to instantly trade between cryptocurrencies, including Bitcoin Cash. Moreover, Changelly allows you to buy most of its supported cryptocurrencies with USD using Visa or MasterCard.

Finally, always make sure to keep your funds and transactions safe. Only trade on reputable exchanges, make sure to read users’ reviews and feedback and always double-check the addresses where you’re sending your funds.

Exchange BCH-fiat trading pairs BCH-Crypto trading pairs
Coinbase BCH/USD BCH/BTC
Bittrex (BCH is known as BCC on Bittrex) / BCC/BTC, BCC/USDT, BCC/ETH
Kraken BCH/USD, BCH/EUR BCH/BTC
Cex.io BCH/USD, BCH/EUR, BCH/GBP BCH/BTC
Poloniex / BCH/BTC, BCH/USDT, BCH/ETH

Peer-to-peer trading

Alternatively, you can opt for a peer-to-peer purchase. LocalBitcoinCash is an example of a service which supports this for Bitcoin Cash, as LocalBitcoins does for the original Bitcoin. LocalBitcoinCash provides a platform where users can trade BCH for fiat currencies directly with each other. Users can either place orders and wait for someone to respond or fulfil other people’s orders, with the platform itself providing an escrow service. However, whether this platform can be trusted still remains to be seen.

If you do decide to use the platform, bear in mind that you will be dealing with individuals, instead of reputable companies. This means that the chance of fraudulent behavior is significantly higher.

When trading peer-to-peer, always make sure to double-check the amounts, the current exchange rate and the addresses of both your and the recipient’s wallet. Finally, and this should be obvious - never, under any circumstances give up your private keys to anyone.

There is also an option of setting up a person-to-person meeting. This can be done through dedicated Bitcoin Cash forums, LocalBitcoinCash and you can always check Meetup.com to find a BCH-related event near you.

Crypto-anarchist

When buying Bitcoin Cash offline, always make sure to meet in a public place. Bringing a friend with you could also be a good idea ( just make sure to notify the seller beforehand). You will also need a working Internet connection to check the latest currency exchange rate and sign off for the transaction.