ما هو تعدين بيتكوين

Bitcoin mining process, a pick and Bitcoins

ما هو التعدين

هناك ثلاث طرق أساسية للحصول على بيتكوين: شراcها في البورصة أو قبولها للسلع والخدمات وتعدين عملات جديدة. والتعدين هو عملية إضافة سجلات المعاملات إلى دفتر الحسابات العام الذي يسمى بلوكتشين لبيتكوين. وهو موجود بحيث يمكن تأكيد كل معاملة، ويمكن لكل مستخدم واحد من الشبكة الوصول إلى دفتر الحسابات هذا. كما أنها تستخدم للتمييز بين معاملات بيتكوين المشروعة من محاولات إعادة إنفاق المال الذي سبق أن أنفق في مكان آخر.

التعدين - هي عملية لحفظ السجلات تتم من خلال استخدام قوة معالجة الكمبيوتر.

بلوكتشين - هو دفتر الحسابات العام الموزع حيث يتم الاحتفاظ بسجلات كل معاملة لبيتكوين.

ويُطلق على "بلوكتشين" هذا الاسم لأنها حرفيًا عبارة عن سلسلة من الكتل، والتي هي عبارة عن قوائم للمعاملات التي تتم خلال فترة محددة من الزمن. وعندما يتم إنشاء كتلة من المعاملات، يضعها القائمون بالتعدين من خلال عملية. حيث يقومون بتطبيق صيغة رياضية معقدة للمعلومات في الكتلة، وبالتالي تحويلها إلى ما يبدو تسلسلًا عشوائيًا أقصر بكثير من حروف وأرقام تسمى تجزئة أو 'هاش'.

التجزئة أو الهاش - هو تسلسل فريد بطول ثابت من أرقام عشوائية، والذي يمكن إنشاؤه من بيانات بأي حجم.

ولا يتكون الهاش من معلومات من كتلة المعاملات فحسب، بل يتم استخدام بعض الأجزاء الأخرى من البيانات أيضًا. والأهم من ذلك، يتم تضمين هاش الكتلة السابقة المخزنة في بلوكتشين.

وفي حين أنه من السهل نسبيًا إنتاج هاش من مجموعة من البيانات مثل كتلة من المعاملات، فإنه من المستحيل عمليًا معرفة ما هي البيانات التي استخدمت فقط من خلال النظر في تسلسل الهاش. وعلاوة على ذلك، تكون كل هاش فريدة من نوعها، ويؤدي تغيير حرف واحد فقط في كتلة بيتكوين إلى تغيير تسلسل الهاش تمامًا.

Hash md5, a table with examples of inputs and outputs

وكما ترون في المثال أعلاه، فبغض النظر عن مقدار البيانات المستخدمة كمدخلات، سوف يظل الهاش دائمًا بنفس الطول.

وبسبب هذه الصفات، يعمل الهاش كختم شمعي رقمي. فإذا تلاعب أي شخص بكتلة واحدة فقط من المعاملات فإن الهاش سيتغير على الفور، وكذلك جميع تسلسلات التجزئة التالية في بلوكتشين. وبالتالي، فإن كل محاولة للاحتيال داخل شبكة بيتكوين سيتم رصدها بسهولة من قبل جميع من يستخدمها.

Hash md5 works as a digital wax seal

المكافآت

بشكلٍ أساسي فإن القائمين بالتعدين يخدمون مجتمع بيتكوين من خلال تأكيد كل معاملة والتأكد من شرعية كل واحدة منها. وجميعهم يتنافسون مع بعضهم البعض، وذلك باستخدام برنامج مكتوب خصيصًا لتعدين الكتل. وفي كل مرة يتم "ختم" كتلة جديدة، يعني هذا أن القائم بالتعدين قد قام بنجاح بإنشاء تسلسل هاش صحيح، ومن ثم يحصل على مكافأة.

واعتبارًا من أكتوبر ٢٠١٧، تبلغ قيمة المكافأة ١٢,٥ بيتكوين لكل كتلة، وسوف تنخفض هذه القيمة بمقدار النصف بعد كل ٢١٠٠٠٠ كتلة. والعدد الإجمالي من بيتكوين محدود، لذلك فكلما تم تعدين المزيد من العملات، تزداد قيمة كل واحدة منها. وهكذا، فعلى الرغم من أن كمية بيتكوين لكل كتلة سوف تنخفض حتمًا، فإن قيمة مكافآت القائمين بالتعدين من المرجح أن تبقى نفسها أو سترتفع.

وعادةً، سيكون من السهل للغاية إنتاج هاش من مجموعة من المعلومات، وتُعد أجهزة كمبيوتر جيدة حقًا في هذا الأمر. ولهذا السبب، ولمنع المستخدمين من تكوين هاش لآلاف من كتل المعاملات كل ثانية وتعدين كل عملات بيتكوين المتاحة في غضون دقائق، فإن شبكة بيتكوين تقوم عمدًا بجعل العملية أكثر صعوبة.

التعقيدات

وتتم هذه من خلال "إثبات العمل" المطلوب. وهو نظام يتطلب بعض العمل من مقدم الخدمة، وعادة ما يعني زيادة وقت المعالجة بواسطة الكمبيوتر. وإنتاج إثبات العمل هو عملية عشوائية مع احتمال ضئيل، لذلك عادة ما يستلزم الأمر الكثير من التجربة والخطأ لتوليد إثبات عمل صالح. وعندما يتعلق الأمر ببيتكوين، يكون الهاش هو ما يعمل كإثبات العمل.

إثبات العمل - وهو تدبير اقتصادي يستخدم للتأمين ضد وقوع الأنشطة الاحتيالية من خلال طلب بعض الأعمال من مقدم الخدمة، وهو ما يعني عادة زيادة وقت المعالجة بواسطة الكمبيوتر.

ولتعقيد التعدين أكثر من ذلك، يتم تنفيذ شيء يسمى "صعوبة بيتكوين" في هذه العملية. وهو مقياس لمدى صعوبة العثور على كتلة جديدة مقارنةً بأسهل ما يمكن أن يكون عليه الأمر على الإطلاق.

صعوبة بيتكوين - هو قياس لمدى صعوبة إنشاء هاش صحيح.

ويعاد حساب هذا الإجراء كل عام ٢٠١٦ كتلة. وهو مصممٌ بحيث يستغرق تعدين كتلة واحدة حوالي ١٠ دقائق. وكلما زاد عدد القائمين بالتعدين المشاركين، زاد معدل توليد الكتل حتمًا. ثم بعد إعادة حساب مستوى الصعوبة، يرتفع ذلك المستوى من أجل التعويض وخفض معدل توليد كتلة جديدة مرة أخرى. وسيتم رفض أي كتلة من قبل أي معدِّنٍ محتال لا تفي بمستوى الصعوبة المطلوبة من قبل الجميع على الشبكة، وبالتالي تصبح لا قيمة لها.

لذلك، تتطلب هذه العملية مجهودًا ومن خلال ذلك تصبح العملة الجديدة متاحة ببطء. ويشبه معدل ظهور العملات الجديدة المعدل الذي يتم به استخراج السلع مثل الذهب من الأرض. لذلك يُطلق على هذه العملية اسم "تعدين".

Scheme of how blockchain technology works

What is Bitcoin Mining

Bitcoin mining process, a pick and Bitcoins

 

 

What is Mining

There are three primary ways of obtaining Bitcoins: buying them on an exchange, accepting them for goods and services and mining new ones. Mining is a process of adding transaction records to the Bitcoin’s public ledger called the Blockchain. It exists so that every transaction can be confirmed, and every single user of the network can access this ledger. It is also used to distinguish legitimate Bitcoin transactions from attempts of re-spending money that has already been spent somewhere else.

Mining — a process of record-keeping, done through the use of computer processing power.

Blockchain — a public distributed ledger where records of every Bitcoin transaction are held.

The Blockchain is so called because it is literarily a chain of blocks, which are lists of transactions made during a set period of time. When a block of transactions is generated, miners put it through a process. They apply a complex mathematical formula to the information in the block, subsequently turning it into a far shorter, seemingly random sequence of letters and numbers called a ‘hash’.

Hash — a fixed-length unique sequence of random digits, which can be created from data of any size.

A hash doesn’t only consist of information from the block of transactions, some other pieces of data are used too. Most importantly, the hash of the previous block stored in the Blockchain is included.

While it’s relatively easy to produce a hash from a collection of data like a block of transactions, it’s practically impossible to know what data was used just by looking at the hash sequence. Moreover, each and every hash is unique, and changing just one character in a Bitcoin block completely changes the hash sequence.

Hash md5, a table with examples of inputs and outputs

As you can see in the example above, no matter how much data is used as input, the hash will always stay the same length.

Because of these attributes, hash works as a digital wax seal. If someone tampers with just one block of transactions its hash will immediately change, and so will all the following hash sequences in the Blockchain. Thus, every attempt at fraud within the Bitcoin network will be easily spotted by everyone using it.

Hash md5 works as a digital wax seal

Rewards

Essentially, miners are serving the Bitcoin community by confirming every transaction and making sure that every single one of them is legitimate. They all compete with one another, using software written specifically to mine blocks. Every time a new block is ‘sealed off’, meaning that a miner has successfully created a correct hash sequence, he or she gets a reward.

As of October 2017, the bounty stands at 12.5 Bitcoins per block, and this value will decrease by half every 210,000 blocks. The overall number of Bitcoins is limited, so the more coins are mined, the more valuable each of them becomes. Thus, even though the amount of Bitcoins per block will inevitably decrease, the value of miners’ rewards will most likely stay the same or even rise.

Normally, it would be extremely easy to produce a hash from a collection of information, computers are really good at this. Hence why, to prevent users from hashing thousands of transaction blocks each second and mining all of the available Bitcoins within minutes, the Bitcoin network has to deliberately make the process more difficult.

Complications

This is done via a required ‘Proof of Work’. It is a system that requires some work from the service requester, usually meaning processing time by a computer. Producing a proof of work is a random process with low probability, so normally a lot of trial and error is required for a valid proof of work to be generated. When it comes to Bitcoins, hash is what serves as a proof of work.

Proof of Work — an economic measure used to ensure against fraudulent activities by requiring some work from the service requester, usually meaning processing time by a computer.

To complicate mining even further, something called the Bitcoin Difficulty is implemented in the process. It is a measure of how difficult it is to find a new block compared to the easiest it can ever be.

Bitcoin Difficulty — a measure of how difficult it is to generate a correct hash.

This measure is recalculated every 2016 blocks. It is designed so that mining one block will take approximately 10 minutes. As more miners join in, the rate of block generation inevitably goes up. Then, after the difficulty level is recalculated, it rises in order to compensate and bring the rate of block creating back down. Any block released by fraudulent miners that does not meet the required difficulty level will be rejected by everyone on the network, thus becoming worthless.

So, this process requires exertion and through it new currency slowly becomes available. The rate at which new coins appear resembles the rate at which commodities like gold are mined from the ground. Hence why the process is called ‘mining’.

Scheme of how blockchain technology works